Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Top 10 Ticket Offers
Blanc de Blanc
£7.50
American Idiot
£10.00
Exposure
£10.00
How the Other Half Loves
£10.00
Horrible Histories - The Best of Barmy
£12.00
The Royale
£12.50
Coriolanus and Du Liniang
£14.00
Boys Will Be Boys
£15.00
Mandela Trilogy
£15.00
Romeo and Juliet
£15.00

Latest Forum Posts
We Will Rock You to close! - After 12 amazing years, We Will Rock You which proved everyone wrong, even with its simple zany story is to finally close on 31st May 2014. Tickets...
Cool Rider tickers from £16 - Come on someone liked the music from Grease 2! This is sure to be a laugh, billed as a cult musical. £16 tickets are available between 15th and 18...
Memphis for only £10 - Get in fast, tickets from Oct 9th - Oct 22nd are going for only £10. Don't miss Beverley Knight's performance! http://theatrereviewslondon.entst...
Urinetown - Hands up who has seen it!? Certainly the most interesting title show for some time. Anyone rate Jamie Lloyd's comedy musical?...
Blithe Spirit - Blithe Spirit is to open tomorrow night (March 18th 2014). It stars Angela Lansbury who is of course best known for the TV show Murder She Wrote. Th...

Buy Show Tickets




Theatre Venues




Feature Review - Paul Gladwell

Macbeth

Having seen a fair few William Shakespeare adaptations over the years you are always hoping that the very next one you see will stand out. Is it possible to put yet another spin on Macbeth? It’s not as though a modern re-working hasn’t been attempted before…. Well, this one definitely delivers….

This is Infinite Space Theatre’s first production. They claim to provide 3 elements – The Accessible, The Compelling and The Innovative. This production gets a tick for all 3. Directed by Nick Hastings, this modern re-working of Macbeth is set against the corporate world of ambition, takeovers and greed in the City.

The performance uses various forms of multimedia which really help with the aims of making this performance accessible and innovative. Sky News style TV recordings of the characters are displayed at the back of the theatre on a widescreen TV, music is used for the impact scenes and some of the dialogue forms mobile phone conversations. They have even put together newspaper pages that are on display at the entrance to the theatre and in the programme; a great idea.

Macbeth is ably played by Steven Maddocks. Dressed in his well turned out City suits he convinces as the high-flier seeking to take power from Duncan (Michael Mayne) who is the head of The Royal Bank of Dunsinane. But then struggling to live with the consequences of his actions, Steven ups his performance as the guilt of Macbeth starts to take its toll.

A story centred on corporate takeovers in the city would not be complete without members of the press. The Three Witches are there to stir the pot!

The second half picks up the pace very quickly as things soon start to unravel for Macbeth and Lady Macbeth. The paranoia of Lady Macbeth is so apparent thanks to an intense and at times quite scary performance by the brilliant Danielle Stagg.

The Cockpit is a small and intimate venue. The stage (floor really!) is in the middle of the room and the audience can sit around three sides of the square room. At each corner of the room the actors can emerge plus there is a wraparound balcony. The action really does surround you, which this performance really takes advantage of.

I really wanted to give this full marks and I was close. The one gripe was maybe that the performance of Danielle was so good that it eclipsed Steven’s. Should Lady Macbeth outshine Macbeth? I’m not so sure….

Paul Gladwell








UK Theatre and Ticket Websites

West End Theatre Reviews

Welcome to Theatre Reviews London.

Here reviewers give honest opinions and ratings about the plays and musicals they have seen to help you decide which show to see. This is the perfect place for you to get an idea of what a show is really like, before you make a booking. Once you have decided which show to go to, our partners will help you find the tickets, often at discounted rates. We also offer Dinner & Show deals for a full nights entertainment.

Add a review yourself, just click on the show you have seen and click the "add a review" button.

Latest Theatre Reviews

From Here To Eternity What a total disappointment having attended 22/02/14 matinee. Summing up, the show was as dull as the lighting.The music was either background to shouting dialogue to advance the plot and the few songs were readily forgettable.The updated approach to a sensitive subject was made to be vulgar and un-entertaining F'ing dialogue worse than a macho sports event.The lighting throughout was as dull as the overall performance and considering the Hawaiien setting it would have been more understanding to have lighting indicating sunshine.The performers all appeared to be working hard to make the best of poor material and they are not the failures

Name: Mr D Tomlinson
Age: 85
See more reviews

We went for a family day out to see this having wanted to see this for a number of years.

Name: Kate
Age: 27
See more of this review...

So funny and entertaining I loved every minute.

Name: Scott
Age: 45
See more of this review...

I pondered whether my daughter was too young to enjoy this show (she is 7), but I am so pleased I took the risk.

Name: Lucy
Age: 40
See more of this review...

Loved it, the songs the interaction with the audience the whole experience.

Name: Linda
Age: 55
See more of this review...

Mummy took me to see this and it was so good.

Name: Olivia
Age: 7
See more of this review...


Shows opening soon


Musical
Show opens 9/30/2016
Click here to book tickets for Murder Ballad

Don't miss Murder Ballad, the thrilling new musical of love, obsession and murderous desire as it heads to the Arts Theatre this October with West End and Broadway star, Kerry Ellis. Fresh from making a critically acclaimed killing off-Broadway, Murder Ballad is a razor-sharp tale of modern relationships, abandoned dreams and treachery in the big city.


Play
Show opens 10/4/2016
Click here to book tickets for No's Knife

‘Where would I go, if I could go, who would I be, if I could be, what would I say, if I had a voice, who says this, saying it’s me?’ The world premiere of No’s Knife sees Samuel Beckett, a titan of theatrical writing, exploring the powerful resilience to stay alive.


Play
Show opens 10/5/2016
Click here to book tickets for The Dresser

A major revival of The Dresser by Academy award winning author Sir Ronald Harwood starring Ken Stott and Reece Shearsmith. Olivier Award winner Ken Stott and BAFTA Award winner Reece Shearsmith come together as lead actor “Sir” and Norman “the dresser” in this eagerly awaited revival of “a wonderfully affectionate and intelligent play about the theatre” The Guardian. Both hilarious and poignant, The Dresser explores the relationship between two men who are reluctantly and inevitably co-dependent.


Musical
Show opens 10/7/2016
Click here to book tickets for Dance Umbrella - Unknown Pleasures

Unknown Pleasures is an intentionally provocative proposition.


Musical
Show opens 10/8/2016
Click here to book tickets for Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs

On top of his myriad accomplishments and accolades, Alan Cumming has been hailed by Time Magazine as one of the most fun people in show business! This October UK audiences will have the opportunity to see the full range of this Renaissance man’s talents when he brings his award-winning show ‘Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs’ to the London Palladium as well as dates in Brighton, York and Gateshead. Expect intimate secrets and raucous anecdotes, all delivered with disarming emotional honesty as well as his own, very personal reinterpretations of the songs he loves to perform – by Kurt Weill and Noël Coward, Stephen Sondheim and Rufus Wainwright, Lady Gaga and Katy Perry. Inspired by his infamous post-show dressing room parties during his Broadway run in Cabaret, Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs! premiered at New York’s legendary Café Carlyle and recently sold out Carnegie Hall.


Shows ending soon


Show closes 9/30/2016
Click here to book tickets for The Game's Afoot

The Olivier nominated creators of Alice's Adventures Underground, Les Enfant Terribles theatre company and ebp in association with Madame Tussauds present THE GAME'S AFOOT. Become Baker Street’s finest detective.


Show closes 10/1/2016
Click here to book tickets for The Threepenny Opera

A landmark of twentieth century musical theatre, The Threepenny Opera comes to the National Theatre in a bold new production. Simon Stephens’ vivid and darkly comic new translation of Brecht’s book and lyrics meets Kurt Weill’s extraordinary score. Rory Kinnear plays Macheath. Contains filthy language and immoral behaviour. The original German text is based on Elisabeth Hauptmann’s German translation of John Gay’s The Beggar’s Opera London scrubs up for the coronation.


Show closes 10/1/2016
Click here to book tickets for The Alchemist RSC

In this remarkable year, celebrating 400 years of the genius of Shakespeare, we bring four diverse Royal Shakespeare Company plays to the Barbican - direct from Stratford-upon-Avon. Following the acclaimed King & Country: Shakespeare’s Great Cycle of Kings and A Midsummer Night’s Dream; this Autumn sees a pairing of works of two of Shakespeare’s contemporaries, in repertoire from 2 September to 1 October. The Alchemist written by one of Shakespeare’s finest contemporaries, Jonson’s savage satire revels in just how vain we humans can be. When London is hit by plague, Lovewit flees to the country, leaving his townhouse in the hands of his trusted butler Jeremy.


Show closes 10/1/2016
Click here to book tickets for Doctor Faustus RSC

In this remarkable year, celebrating 400 years of the genius of Shakespeare, we bring four diverse Royal Shakespeare Company plays to the Barbican - direct from Stratford-upon-Avon. Two actors enter.


Show closes 10/1/2016
Click here to book tickets for Aladdin

Brought to theatrical life by a legendary creative team, Disney’s new Broadway musical Aladdin will sweep you into a world filled with beauty, comedy and breath-taking spectacle when it opens at the Prince Edward Theatre, London in June 2016. Directed and choreographed by Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon) with music by Alan Menken (Beauty and the Beast), Aladdin features lyrics by Howard Ashman (Beauty and the Beast), Tim Rice (The Lion King) and Chad Beguelin (Elf), who also wrote the book. Featuring the timeless songs from the classic film including A Whole New World, Friend Like Me and Arabian Nights along with new music written for the production, Aladdin is an extraordinary theatrical event you will want to be amongst the first to experience.